SSC CGL 2020 Apply Online, Dates, Eligibility, SSC CGL Notification, SSC CGL Exam Date

SSC CGL 2020 apply online, Dates, Eligibility & Procedure

SSC CGL 2020 Apply Online will be available from October 22, 2019, as per the officially released calendar. Interested aspirants shall apply for it through its official website i.e. The online application link will be provided here once it becomes active on SSC’s official website.

In 2017, around 15 lakh candidates appeared for the tier-1 of the SSC CGL exam.

Candidates having bachelor’s degree in any stream or discipline can apply for the exam.

  • SSC CGL 2019 registration will be conducted in online mode only.
  • The exam comprises of 4 levels – Tier I, Tier II, Tier III, and Tier IV.
  • The CGL Examination for Tier I will be held from 2 to 11 March 2020 and will be a computer-based examination.
  • the Combined Graduate Level Examination-2019 for Tier II and III will be held from 22 to 25 June 2020
  • The registration link will remain open till November 25, after which no application will be accepted.
  • The application fee for general category male candidates is INR 100.
  • Aspirants of all other categories are exempted from fee payment.

Important Dates for  SSC CGL 2020 Apply Online

Activity Date
SSC CGL 2019 Notification Release Date22nd October 2019
SSC CGL 2019 Application Start Date22nd October 2019
SSC CGL 2019 Application End Date25th November 2019
SSC CGL 2019 Tier- I(CBE) Exam Date2nd to 11th March 2020
SSC CGL 2019 Tier- II(CBE) & Tier III(Des) Exam Date22nd to 25th June 2020
SSC CGL 2019 Tier- IVTo be notified later

SSC CGL Age Relaxation

OBC3 years
SC/ST5 years
Physically Handicapped (PH)10 years
PH + OBC13 years
PH + SC/ST15 years

Application Fee Detail for SSC CGL 2019 Examination

For General /OBC candidatesRs.100/-
For SC/ST/PH candidatesNill 
For Female candidatesNill

SSC CGL Age Limit (as on 01-01-2020)

The minimum age limit defined for SSC CGL is 18 years and the maximum age limit is 32 years.
SSC CGL Post Wise Age Limit

S NoName of PostMinistry/ Department/ Office/ CadreClassification of PostsAge Limit
1Assistant Audit OfficerIndian Audit & Accounts Department under C&AGGroup “B” Gazetted (Non-Ministerial)Not exceeding 30 years.
2Assistant Accounts OfficerIndian Audit & Accounts Department under C&AGGroup “B” Gazetted (Non-Ministerial)
3Assistant Section OfficerCentral Secretariat ServiceGroup “B”20-30 years
4Assistant Section OfficerIntelligence BureauGroup “B”Not exceeding 30 years.
5Assistant Section OfficerMinistry of RailwayGroup “B”20-30 years
6Assistant Section OfficerMinistry of External AffairsGroup “B”
7Assistant Section OfficerAFHQGroup “B”
8AssistantOther Ministries/ Departments/ OrganizationsGroup “B”18-30 years
9AssistantOther Ministries/ Departments/ OrganizationsGroup “B”20-30 years
10Assistant Section OfficerOther Ministries/ Departments/ OrganizationsGroup “B”Not exceeding 30 years.
11Inspector of Income TaxCBDTGroup “C”
12Inspector, (Central Excise)CBICGroup “B”
13Inspector (Preventive Officer)
14Inspector (Examiner)
15Assistant Enforcement OfficerDirectorate of Enforcement, Department of Revenue 
Group “B”
Up to 30 years
16Sub InspectorCentral Bureau of InvestigationGroup “B”20-30 years
17Inspector PostsDepartment of PostGroup “B”18-30 years
18InspectorCentral Bureau of NarcoticsGroup “B”Not exceeding 30 years
19AssistantOther Ministries/ Departments/ OrganizationsGroup “B”
20Assistant/ SuperintendentOther Ministries/ Departments/ OrganizationsGroup “B”
21Divisional AccountantOffices under C&AGGroup “B”
22Sub InspectorNational
Investigation Agency (NIA)
Group “B”Up to 30 years
23Junior Statistical OfficerM/o Statistics & Programme Implementation.Group “B”Up to 32 years
Investigator Grade-II
Registrar General of IndiaGroup “B”Not exceeding 30 years
25AuditorOffices under C&AGGroup “C”18-27 years
26AuditorOther Ministry/ DepartmentsGroup “C”
27AuditorOffices under CGDAGroup “C”
28AccountantOffices under C&AGGroup “C”
29Accountant/ Junior AccountantOther Ministry/ DepartmentsGroup “C”
30Senior Secretariat Assistant/ Upper Division ClerksCentral Govt. Offices/ Ministries other than CSCS cadres.Group “C”
31Tax AssistantCBDTGroup “C”
32Tax AssistantCBICGroup “C”
33Sub-InspectorCentral Bureau of NarcoticsGroup “C”
34Upper Division ClerksDte. Gen Border Road Organisation (MoD)
(Post is only for male Candidates)
Group “C”

Admission to MBBS courses in AIIMS, JIPMER to be through NEET 2020: Dr. Harsh Vardhan

SSC CGL Selection Process and Exam Pattern:

Every year Staff Selection Commission (SSC) carries out the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) exam in four levels for various posts.

Tier – IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer-Based Examination(online)
Tier – IIObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer-Based Examination(online)
Tier – IIIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier – IVSkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestComputer-Based (if applicable)

It is good to make a note of the SSC CGL exam pattern & syllabus, before starting the exam preparation. SSC CGL Exam Patterns 2019 for Tier I & II are given below:

  1. SSC CGL 2019 Tier I and Tier II exam will be held online.
  2. A descriptive paper will be of 100 marks with a time limit of 60 minutes in pen and paper mode.
  3. The time limit for examination of Tier -I is 60 minutes.
  4. There will be no sectional cut off.

Minimum qualifying marks in Tier-I, each Paper of Tier-II and Tier-III examination are as follows:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *